It’s that time again… #NIAW

April 23, 2015

Every year I write a post for National Infertility Awareness Week. Here are posts from the past: 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010.

Whew. I’ve been at this a good long while.

Somewhere along the way Resolve started adding themes for bloggers to write about. This year it is You Are Not Alone.

Let’s say that again: YOU. ARE. NOT. ALONE.

But I know you feel alone. Even if you know you’re not.

And instead of me trying to articulate why we all feel alone despite knowing that we are not, I am going to turn you over to some other bloggers who have already expressed it.

Jay, aka The Two Week Wait, sums it up nicely here: You Are Not Alone…Even Thought It Sometimes Feels That Way.

As does Angela, aka Rad Kitten, in her post: You Are Not Alone.

And Jess over at It’s Just A Box of Rain in her post: My life raft #NIAW.

And then there’s Jen who wrote: NIAW: You Are Not Alone. Then Why Am I So Lonely?

And one last one, a blog I just discovered because of NIAW, titled waiting for baby bird wrote this post that totally made me cry: You Are Not Alone: Flying Together with Broken Wings.

See the theme yet?

There are two.

One is simply to let others know that YOU.ARE.NOT.ALONE. To all those suffering in silence that if you can find the courage to talk about it and find your tribe it will get a little easier.

But the other theme I see in all these posts is a bit darker. For those of us who do talk about it. For those of us who have already found our tribe. For those of us who intellectually know that we are not alone.

We still feel alone.

Every story is unique. Every path has its own debris to clear that is not exactly like the debris on someone else’s path. And every path finds its own end. Some end with a pot of gold. Others a rainbow. And some paths…just keep going.

You are not alone. But it’s OK that you feel that way.

2 Responses to “It’s that time again… #NIAW”


  1. Nice summary of the dichotomy of this whole darn thing. ❤ Thanks for sharing your thoughts and mine too.

  2. Fox Says:

    I really struggled with how best to capture it. So I just let everyone else speak for me. I’m sure it’s not quite what Resolve had in mind for this theme but I see it almost everyone’s posts. And I feel it, too.


Comments are closed.

