2014 End of Year Wrap Up

December 31, 2014

It’s that time of year again. As in, the end.

I haven’t been a good blogger lately but I always do an end of the year post. Even though I sound like a broken record.

I reread last year’s post and cried at the fact that I pronounced 2013 an OK year because no one had died.

I cannot say that this year. This year I lost a friend to that fuckwipe Cancer. Fuckwipe Cancer is a distant cousin to that Bitch Hope and far, far worse than Hope could ever be.

This was also the year of #KitKaper. Or rather the year of The Caper That Wasn’t. Sadly this year, like all the ones before it, ends with no kit in my house.

This was the year that I live tweeted my road trip with my embryos for #KitKaper. And while the story would have been a millionbillionty times better if one or both of them became a baby, I do not regret the trip. Or the tweets.

What’s more, Alethea loved that I did it.

(Alethea is my friend who died this year)

So… I had a failed surrogacy, a surprise adoption that was not to be and a friend died.

Not a good year.

Not that nothing good happened this year.

Even though our surrogacy didn’t work out, B and I are still pretty tight. Worries about how it might change our friendship have not been an issue. She is more determined than ever to help me. She has baby stuff and clothes saved for me.

When Alethea first became sick back in April a small group of us began a chat session to talk about ways to help Alethea. That chat session is STILL GOING. It is the fucking Energizer Bunny of chat sessions. And all our friendships have been strengthened by it.

I participated in Sher’s I Believe contest as a judge. Now this one is a doubled edged sword. It’s both good and bad. It’s good because I was a part of something that helped others.
It’s bad because it was a difficult thing for me to do and it left me in a bit of a fragile emotional state. A state I have not yet climbed out of.

There’s been a lot of positive learning and growth over the year(s).

But I still can’t call 2014 a good year.

I consider myself a realist. And I think that’s a pretty accurate statement given that most pessimists think I’m an optimist and most optimists find me too pessimistic. ๐Ÿ˜‰

But I’m considering changning that up a bit with regards to how I face 2015. Over the past five years I’ve progressively held less and less hope and set fewer and fewer expectations for the New Year. In fact, last year, I pronounced I would set none.

So I will follow suit this year but this time…I think I will just expect the worst. I will become a pessimist and just assume everything will be shit.

Consider yourself warned.

That’s just my way of trying to trick the Universe into making it a good year. Or at least a good year compared to my expectations of tragedy.

Hopefully I did not just hear the Universe say, “Challenge…ACCEPTED!”

image

Does the Universe look like NPH? I think not.

2 Responses to “2014 End of Year Wrap Up”

  1. dipitie Says:

    Yes, 2014 blows as much as any year. But there was a silver lining… you finally met ME! And I got to meet YOU! ๐Ÿ˜‰ here’s to a better 2015 xoxo


Comments are closed.

