Whirlwind… Again

August 18, 2014

How can I simultaneously feel naked and exposed and yet also like a fraud?

I have put my (mostly) best foot forward. It’s my foot. But without the bunions. Is that fair? Is it fair to only show my good side?

I know many people feel like this is a common occurrence on Facebook but for me….it’s not my norm. It’s not that I share all my bad. In fact I tend to hide the worst like most people. But I don’t only share the good either. And usually I don’t feel like my Facebook feed is mocking me with other people’s perfect lives. Because no one’s life is perfect.

But an adoption profile is a marketing tool. Whether it should be or not is another question. It is. You put your best foot forward and hope it resonates. Maybe you include a photo of you in curlers just for character.

Oh wait. I should probably back up.

Two weeks ago we decided on an adoption agency and I started to fill out their application.

Then we got an email from our surrogacy attorney. Asking us where we were on our adoption path and would we be interested in hearing about an expectant mother and an independent private adoption situation.

*deer in headlights*

But…we don’t have a home study.

That’s OK.

But…we don’t have a profile.

Can you get us one in 48 hours?

Um…

Yes!

An expectant mother out there has our (hastily put together) profile in hand.

Gulp.

How did we get here?

Talking Heads – Once In A Lifetime: http://youtu.be/o7pVjl4Rrtc

We have a history of doing things backwards and making major decisions with little time. So far that strategy has not served us well. But…maybe?

17 Responses to “Whirlwind… Again”

  1. Cyn Says:

    Wowsers! Sending hope for a great outcome. 😀

  2. Wife of a Sailor Says:

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this is just another way you guys get to do something bass-ackwards. Good luck!


  3. Fingers crossed. My friend Erica went through a journey much like yours and started to work on adoption. Got a call on Tuesday, took Z home on Friday. He was over at my house yesterday doing cannonballs and eating four hot dogs. Fingers crossed!

  4. sarahjkl82 Says:

    What an incredible situation! I have everything crossed that it works out well for you x

  5. soangiewrites Says:

    Holding such hope for you ❤


  6. HOLY SHIT. I am crossing EVERYTHING for you guys!

  7. Kari Says:

    Sending you happy thoughts for a great outcome! We found out last Monday that we had been approved by our agency and picked the same day! I get the fast paced thing! 🙂

  8. Geochick Says:

    WOWEEE! Hope your roller coaster ride is short and sweet

  9. Mrs T Says:

    Eek! All the good vibes your way.

  10. jesskawrites Says:

    🙂 after all that anguish and grief it’s about time something works out for you, albeit unexpectedly 🙂

    I hope you get lucky this time *fingers crossed* 😉

  11. Kitten Says:

    Eek! That’s wonderful news! I hope this brings a wonderful unexpected turn of events. 🙂

  12. A. Says:

    Ahh, madness! Good luck!!

  13. wendryn Says:

    Oh, good luck!

  14. gsmwc02 Says:

    Life has it’s unexpected twists and turns when you least expect it. Keeping my fingers crossed that this all works out for you. 🙂

  15. C&C Says:

    What a rollercoaster Fox! Nailbitting and hoping for you guys.


  16. We had a similar roller coaster. Just when you think it’s going to work out, it doesn’t. Just when you think it’s not going to work out, it does. Looking back, it’s obvious that (although it didn’t feel so at the time) there was a plan. We ended up with the right kids. There’s a plan for you, too. Hugs!


Comments are closed.

