Bloggers Unite for EndoMarch – Week Eight: Friends & Family

March 9, 2014

This week’s writing prompt from ChancesOur is:

Did you tell your friends, family, co-workers that you are going to the march? What were their reactions? If you are not going to the Endomarch you can answer, do your friends family and co-workers know about your struggle with endometriosis? Are they supportive?

But first, in case you’d like to catch up here all the previous posts:
Week One: Basic Info
Week Two: Getting Personal
Week Three: An Open Letter to Congress
Week Four: An Interview
Week Five – Goals
Week Six: Why Is This Important?
Week Seven: Spread The Word

Honestly, I’m not entirely sure how to respond to this prompt. I’m not attending the march so I haven’t mentioned it at work. My friends and family know I have endo. It’s not a secret. Nor is my infertility. But I also don’t shout it from the rooftops. I do my shouting here. I pull out my soapbox here on this blog.

But are they supportive? Yes. Mostly. They are certainly not NOT supportive. But it’s difficult enough for ME to process what this disease means for me so I can’t really expect them to really grasp it. It’s difficult for me to say that endometriosis is the cause of all my infertility or every laparoscopic surgery. That’s not really proven.

It is unclear if all my reproductive issues are due to endo. It remains unclear to even now what is going on in my body. That makes it difficult for me to say symptom X is caused by Endo. If I can’t reconcile these things in my own brain, how can I expect others to understand? How can I expect them to offer appropriate support?

But they try. And that is worth a lot.

One Response to “Bloggers Unite for EndoMarch – Week Eight: Friends & Family”


  1. I’m reading along. XO


Comments are closed.

