Road Trip Recap

February 6, 2014

Yikes!

About 3 whole minutes [OK it was more like a half hour] after I posted about the road trip last week I got a call telling me that the container the embryos would be riding in had not yet arrived. Cue panic attack. Fortunately it showed up eventually and the upside is that perhaps I’ll be charged slightly less for that since it got, um, slightly LOST in transit and was delivered later than promised.

Whew! Crisis averted. And I saved money!

So I went to clinic the next morning to pick them up and this is what I found.

image

I turned over our signed and notarized paperwork, signed yet another form and waited while the embryologist photocopied my driver’s license. Then he sealed up the container and handed their paperwork to me.

Fortunately, I had been warned that the container would be bulky so I had bought a little wheely thingy to help get the container to/from my car and the clinics. Although I might have spilled all the paperwork coming out of the elevator. 😉

image

Although I had been warned about the size I had not really expected it to look so banged up. I had assumed it would have shipped inside a box. Guess not.

I got to my car and decided that I should strap them in. This is something I had been kind of fretting over all week. I wasn’t sure whether I’d be able to strap them in or if they would need it. But it seemed prudent to not have the container bouncing around if I had to stop suddenly so they wore their seatbelt the whole way.

image

I stopped along the way for food and coffee. And to post updates of our progress. I was a bit worried people would question my sanity for live tweeting my road trip.

But I had fun with it. It was a weird sort of bonding. I was either bonding with my future child(ren) a bit early or I was saying goodbye to my chance at biological offspring. Either way, I think it worked for me. I’m glad I had the experience.

A few hours later we arrived at their new home.

image

I turned over the container and their paperwork to the new embryologist. And there they will stay for just a little longer. My well traveled embabies are at their 3rd (and final) clinic. They are very near their future home where I hope they will stay for 9 months. Especially now that their new home has just passed inspection.

5 Responses to “Road Trip Recap”


  1. It is a strange feeling isn’t it? The things that go through your mind when moving your would-be babies. I’m glad you all made the trip safely. Fingers crossed for you!

  2. Jess Says:

    So amazing! And I was getting worried I wasn’t going to hear more about this adventure- thanks for sharing!

  3. Kimberly Says:

    sounds like a weird but great road trip!


  4. Pretty cool experience! Kind of reminds me of when my ex and I were using a donor and it used to be delivered to my apartment door once a month.


Comments are closed.

