Too Much Stuff

January 1, 2014

I have too much stuff.

As a person who has purged majorly several times in my life (usually following a tragedy that underscores the point that life is decidedly NOT about stuff) I am not one to hang on to a lot of stuff for sentimental reasons. At least, not for long.

But, at this point I have too much stuff for the size of my house. Yet, when my MIL repeatedly mentions that we have too much stuff I get a little…defensive.

Do I need to purge? Yes.

But mostly I need to organize.

We are at a point in our lives where we are supposed to be amassing stuff. She’s at a point in her life where she is supposed to be downsizing. And, oh yes, she has way more stuff than we do.

In defense of all my stuff let me say this:
Two years ago we moved from a larger house into a smaller one. So we have fewer square feet overall. And the square feet we do have are arranged in such a manner that we have even less usable space – I need a bigger kitchen not a bigger man cave. In addition to that I inherited all manner of stuff from Pops when he died – much of it stuff you’re not supposed to just get rid of.

So yes, MIL, we have a lot stuff and I plan to purge to make room for baby. Getting the house organized is one of my goals for 2014 and it absolutely includes getting rid of some stuff. But please stop going on and on about it when you have way more crap than I do.

3 Responses to “Too Much Stuff”

  1. C&C Says:

    It is like you are reading my mind. Now I just need to get my lazy butt in gear. MUST.DE-CLUTTER.ASAP. We should set up a buddy system. “Hey Fox, purged those closets yet? {FFWD-Next week} Hey C put down that bottle of wine yet and cleaned out your cabinets? Can’t promise results but it could work!!


Comments are closed.

