Unfinished Business

November 20, 2013

As I’m a bit off schedule this week I’m going to use this past Monday’s NaBloPoMo writing prompt for today: Tell us about a blog post that you didn’t publish.

I have several posts, in varying states of completion, hanging around as drafts at the moment. Many, if not most, of them I plan to post in the foreseeable future. But there are a couple that may never see the light of day.

There is one in particular that I would like to finish and publish one day. But I’m not sure it will ever happen.

I have a half written post on what it’s like to watch your father die. I don’t just mean the slow death of cancer over months or years but also the very end – the last few hours. And that’s part of why it’s unfinished – it’s not focused.

I set out to write about those last few hours and how horrible they were. But as I wrote, I felt compelled to explain the days and weeks and months and then years that led up to that moment. And the post just got lost in itself. Obviously it’s not an easy post to write as it deals with a lot of complex and raw emotions. What I didn’t expect to encounter was a difficulty in writing it from a technical standpoint. I thought the words would just flow and make sense. But they didn’t.

Pops’ favorite holiday was Thanksgiving. Every Thanksgiving since his death I revisit writing this post. Maybe this year I will publish it. But I doubt it.

2 Responses to “Unfinished Business”

  1. Heather Says:

    I can understand it must be hard to publish that post. So many emotions involved. I’m sorry for your loss.

  2. Rachel Says:

    Hi from ICLW. I’m sorry for your loss and I can see why it would be difficult to publish – maybe just writing it is helpful in healing, and perhaps publishing it one day when you’re ready. Best of luck to you!


Comments are closed.

