Refrigerator Elves

November 12, 2013

Today’s NaBloPoMo writing prompt is: Name five things inside your refrigerator right now and how you feel about them.

Um…how truthful should I be here? I’m pretty sure there is at least one item in my fridge that has achieved independent life and should be given a name. Like Maurice. OK, I confess…there’s probably more than one. Let me go look.

It seems the man brought home a pork tenderloin (1) and some filet mignon (2) tonight. I must say I’m pretty happy about that.

Then there’s the still unopened Egg Nog (3) he brought home last week. Apparently I am somewhat less excited about that since it remains unopened. It’s not that I don’t like egg nog but it feels way too early.

Any one of those small tupperware containers could be Maurice (4).

And then there is the lonely cucumber (5) sitting there screaming for me to make a salad. I love salad. So does Right Guy. But somehow it always seems like such a huge effort to make. And so the poor cucumber sits there. Waiting. It’s sad.

And because I’m an overachiever I’ll add in a sixth item. The large Tupperware container containing my homemade organic rutabaga leek (sauteed in bacon grease) soup (6). Pretty proud of that one actually.

Here’s my fridge. I gave Maurice a Mr. Potatohead face.
image

5 Responses to “Refrigerator Elves”

  1. dogsarentkids Says:

    Ha! I have a lonely cucumber. They should reproduce and make little baby cucumbers. But knowing our luck, they wouldn’t be able to. Poor, infertile, cucumbers.

    Anyway. Comment over! Bye!


  2. I love Maurice! But I also like that you have tamarind paste in your fridge. I take it you enjoy making Indian food… mmmmmmme too!


Comments are closed.

