A rose by any other name…

November 7, 2013

Today’s NaBloPoMo prompt is: If you had to switch your first name, what name would you choose and why?

Well, THAT’s a loaded question. I quite like my name. Why should I change it?

I never changed my last name when I was married because it’s a part of me. It’s a part of who I am and integral to my identity. If I marry again, I won’t change it.

[Not to mention I have countless handles based on it – including this blog.]

So why exactly am I needing to change my first name? Let’s see…I’m such a realist, I need a REASON. OK, got it. Witness protection. Or I’m on the lam, Breaking Bad style. Either way, new name required.

Walter White

Source

I would probably choose one of the names my father thought about naming me but weren’t chosen by my mother. Apparently that’s how I was named – Pops came up with a handful of names he found acceptable and had Momz choose from them. And they were all pretty good options, I think. But, for some reason, I don’t really feel like sharing what they are. Or which I would pick. I put most of my life out there for all to see, but that one… I want to hold back. I have to hold onto a few Pops memories and keep them all to myself now that he’s gone.

6 Responses to “A rose by any other name…”

  1. dogsarentkids Says:

    Oh, good prompt! I have never liked my name. Well, I don’t NOT like it, but it’ super common, too common. There are a bajillion Jennifers in the world.


  2. “I don’t really feel like sharing what they are. Or which I would pick. I put most of my life out there for all to see, but that one… I want to hold back. I have to hold onto a few Pops memories and keep them all to myself now that he’s gone.”

    ~Oh, honey, that just made me cry!!! Although I would love to know what the names were, I love that you are holding them dear to your heart with your memories of Pops. Good for you!

    And I’ve always loved the name Daphne. But I’m sooooo not a Daphne. LOL I love this prompt!

  3. KeAnne Says:

    Name tease! No, I understand, and it’s incredibly moving that you want to keep them to yourself.


Comments are closed.

