Ch-ch-ch-changes

November 6, 2013

Oof. This one is a can of worms.

Today’s NaBloPoMo writing prompt is: If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

Most people probably think first of some visible physical attribute they don’t like: nose, boobs, etc. But I can deal with my Spock ears. I’ve made peace with them over the years.

Can I choose something like “be healthy” or do I have to get rid of just one of my conditions? In the spirit of the question I guess I’ll give it a conservative interpretation.

I would make my uterus work. I can deal with all the other conditions that affect my fertility (and the ones that don’t) but I would really rather trade in Medusa for say… Samantha from Bewitched.

[Thank you Mona Darling for placing this reference in the front of my brain]

Even if it takes IVF to get me pregnant, a working uterus would still allow me to be pregnant. You know, in the right spot.

I would love to not have ever gone through life-threatening pregnancies. Ectopics are no joke. It’s been two years since the last one and I’m still working through the resultant anxiety and PTSD from the one before it.

So yeah, if I could change one thing… I’d change the thing that has brought me closest to death. My own death, I mean. This organ just keeps trying to kill me so I’m evicting her (T minus 12 days). But I’d really prefer to REPLACE her. Or to have not been dealt her in the first place.

I’d swap out Medusa for a more Samanatha-like uterus (bonus points if it can work magic).

2 Responses to “Ch-ch-ch-changes”

  1. diahannreyes Says:

    Thank you for sharing.. your post really moved me.


Comments are closed.

