I’m Good At Twitter

November 2, 2013

Apparently I’m “good at” Twitter.

Or so someone told me recently. My first reaction was, “Is that like being good at Play Doh?”

Several years ago a 3 year old I was babysitting told me I was “good at Play Doh.” I’m not really sure how you can be good or bad at Play Doh since the idea is simply to create something that didn’t exist before, but, if it’s a compliment, I’ll take it. I’d love to be able to put it on my resume but, sadly, it’s probably not relevant. What I would give for a job that valued Play Doh skillz!

Back to Twitter. It is becoming a recurring topic on this blog since I apparently spend a lot of time there. It even has its own tag now. Which is kind of scary to me but taxonomically (is that a word?) appropriate.

Being “good at Twitter” inherently implies that someone can also be “bad at” Twitter. Which I think is very true. I wrote a post about people who “don’t get” Twitter trying to explain it to them. So if some people are bad at it I suppose it is possible that I’m “good at” it. That said, no one is perfect and I did have a recent stumble.

So…what do you think? Are some people “better at” Twitter than others?

And now I leave you with a bird, cuz TWEET.
bird

7 Responses to “I’m Good At Twitter”

  1. Angie Says:

    I think folks use Twitter for all sorts of things. I’m there specifically for connection and friendship, so I’m hip to conversations and interaction.

    Playdough smells weird.

  2. Dipitie Says:

    I don’t think I’m bad at Twitter, but I’m not as good as some. I haven’t mastered the “be on Twitter regularly and still get shit done” thing. I’ll keep practicing 😉

  3. kasey Says:

    Because twitter is used by different people for different reasons being good or bad is somewhat subjective. For most people some sort of connection building is important, but then you have celebrities and news that can stand alone. I really like the party analogy post. FWIW I think you are good at twitter.


  4. I love the party analogy too! And I’m kinda “meh” at Twitter. I miss a lot of goings on, and sometimes stay to the sidelines, only interjecting occasionally. Hmmm…kind of like ME at a party! LOL

  5. notwhenbutif Says:

    For what it’s worth, I’m pretty sure I’m both bad at Play Doh and Twitter. Even as a kid (especially as a kid!) I sucked at Play Doh. The mess, the smell, the unwashed heathens (aka other children) that always wanted to mix the colors! In other words, way too much pressure for OCD mini-me.

    And my Tweets take longer to compose that my graduate thesis did. 140 characters and I do not make for happy bedfellows!

    At least I’m good at commenting on blog posts in a timely manner. Er, uh, yea, never mind!

    (Oh, and you totally rock at Twitter!)


Comments are closed.

