Shocktober

October 25, 2013

I feel like there hasn’t been nearly enough snark on the blog lately. Everything has gotten a bit too serious. I mean, I often write about sorta serious topics but I try to infuse a bit of humor to go with. It’s usually dark humor but, hey, that’s me. What can I say? I love zombies and whatnot. Sue me. [No, really, please don’t.]

So with Halloween coming up…and Medusa’s demise to follow shortly thereafter…my mind is on GORE.

More specifically, my mind is trying to settle on which horror film to watch next. I usually spend ALL of October watching utterly craptastic horror movies but this year… I feel bored with it all. I want a new one. Something I haven’t seen.

I checked out Hemlock Grove the other night. Anyone watching that? I can’t decide if I like it.

What are your faves? I like classic horror movies, gory movies, horror parodies, stupid funny horror movies…you get the idea. Whether it received a rotten tomato award or five stars, if there is horror involved I’ll probably enjoy it on some level – even if it’s just to make fun of how BAD it is. With one noted exception – I am not a fan of documentary, hand-held jiggly camera type movies like Blair Witch or that abomination of an attempt at putting Godzilla in New York. Oh, and Japanese horror movies. I don’t like those much either. Too much hair. [What is THAT about anyway? I mean, it’s gross but it’s not scary.]

Also, did everyone hear about this? Right Guy would NEVER go for something like this but I thought it was pretty clever.
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/10/23/this-engagement-shoot_n_4152110.html

engaged couple stalked by man wearing mask

5 Responses to “Shocktober”

  1. Wannabemom Says:

    It’s not a horror movie, but have you seen Seven Psychopaths? It’s pretty gory. I used to watch horror in my teens but I find I don’t really like that genre anymore. I do enjoy Walking Dead though. The other “horror-ish” tv show I’ve just started is American Horror Story: Coven.

    • Furrowed Fox Says:

      Just started AHS: Coven last night. I had been waiting to watch it with Right Guy (who very uncharacteristically said he wanted to watch it) and he’s been really busy lately.

  2. Dipitie Says:

    My favorite movie is 1408. Love it. I dug the paranormal activity movies but number 4 was a bit too much. Insidious was good too. I’m watching Sinister tomorrow night, fingers crossed that it’s good!

    • Furrowed Fox Says:

      Oh good, new recs! I liked 1408 but I’m a sucker for both Cusack and Stephen King. Not a fan of the Paranormal Activity movies. But the other two I will check out. Thanks!

  3. Dipitie Says:

    Oh! And the Dale and Tucker movie was AWESOME


Comments are closed.

