Music Is Power

June 12, 2013

It’s probably the anti-depressant talking. The one I’m on for pain. And maybe the endorphins. But I just went for a walk/run with some kick ass music and was reminded of my former self.

Who I used to be. Before Pops’ cancer. Before occupying the role of caregiver. Before infertility and ectopic pregnancies. Before Right Guy. Before my divorce even.

Oddly, I was taken back to the last time I was on Lupron. I’m on virtually all the same meds now as then. Only then, Wrong Guy was deployed. And as hard as that was, there was a part of me that enjoyed living by myself for the first time ever. No parents. No roommates. No messy significant other to undo whatever you just cleaned. Just me. Me… pain-free.

I got to know myself, by myself. And it turns out I’m pretty cool. And even a little funny. Wrong Guy was always hysterical so I never realized I could be funny until he wasn’t around. And I have good taste in music. I remember making CDs for all the other (mostly) wives left behind during that deployment. I called that CD Grrl Power. It was an all-female lineup. Everyone loved it.

I’ve been working on an angry music playlist in my head lately. You know, for those times when you are pissed at the world. And I will still make one.

But I think I might have to also work on a new Grrl Power playlist.

Stay tuned for Grrl Power Zwei.

Or perhaps it will be a mash up of the angry and the female themes. Hhhmmmm… Hangry Chicks…?

Oh, and… Welcome back Fox!!! Why don’t you stick around for awhile?

One Response to “Music Is Power”

  1. Dipitie Says:

    Woot woot! I love having those moments, where I feel like myself again, where I feel strong and confident. Glad you felt like that again 🙂


Comments are closed.

