Tattoo the Fox

June 9, 2013

It’s been a long time coming but maybe I’ll finally get that fox tattoo I’ve been talking about for YEARS. Yes, YEARS. Long before I started blogging here. But I need help. One reason I haven’t done it yet is because I can never seem to find a design I *love*. And I need to *love* it if it’s going on my body permanently.

So where exactly do I plan to put it? I’m not sure on that either. I’m thinking my thigh. I want it where I can see it. So it can’t be on my back or shoulder. I also want it where I can hide it if I choose to do so. Tattoos for me are highly personal. They are for me, not for the rest of the world or to try to prove that I’m “cool” or “hip” or something.

The one I have is on my belly. And I want a new location for this one. But I’m still not sure about the thigh. In any case… here are some designs I like. Can anyone maybe help me take the best elements of each and come up with something new? Any of you artsy types? I am not good at this.

Most, if not all, of the images below are proprietary. I don’t think I want any of these exactly but some combination of them that I can’t quite picture.

tattoo1

tattoo4

Question 1. Color? Or no color?

tattoo2tattoo3

tattoo3

Question 2. Small? If small, I’d probably get three to commemorate the lost babes. And put them….where? Or big? If larger, I’d probably add in some butterflies or something to represent the lost babes.

I do kind of like the idea of the vertical fox for a thigh tattoo. Although, of the images posted here, that one is my least favorite. I think I want a vertical fox with a design more like the top two in color.

Maybe.

Ideas?

Do I know any artists that can read my mind? πŸ˜‰

[Thanks to everyone on Twitter that helped me find these]

3 Responses to “Tattoo the Fox”

  1. My1111wish Says:

    You should be able to bring all the designs to a tattoo artist and have them draw something up for you. I have a huge cross on my back- I told him I wanted the cross to be made out of vines with a sunflower in the middle- he drew it up better than I could have ever imagined. I also recommend wearing shorts or skirt to your appt and then sit down so the shorts/skirt ride up. This way you will know how far down you can go without someone seeing. All of mine have to be hidden at work so that’s what I do πŸ™‚


  2. Yes, a tattoo artist can take your images and create something fabulous. I had one made to honor my grandma and it was better than I imagined. I know what my next two tattoos will be, just not sure where they’ll go.

  3. sifinalaska Says:

    Just one paragraph in, I was already thinking of something like the last picture you posted – no color, flawed, broken, and artistic designs, but still obvious. I think something like that is perfect (although, I am no artist, so I could not help you recreate something). I also say small (I like the idea of 3 to commemorate your losses), and how about the inside of your wrist? OR your rib cage. I love the ones on my wrist, because I can always look to them when I need strength, and I can cover them up easily enough with long sleeves too. But if that seems too prominent a location, I can say that the tattoo on my rib cage is one of the most empowering symbols I have – I love it every time I catch it in the mirror!


Comments are closed.

