the NIAW that wasn’t

April 21, 2013

I confess. I’m having a rough time with NIAW (National Infertility Awareness Week) this year.

It’s all the harder with this year’s theme being “Join the Movement.”

You all know how I hate to sound whiny. But. Look out, here it comes.

It’s really, really, REALLY difficult to Join the Movement and become an advocate when you’re still spending all your energy TRYING TO GET PREGNANT.

Or is it just me?

It seems to me the best advocates for Infertility Awareness are those that have been through it…and come out the other side – in some form or fashion. Whether they have had success with treatments and now have a biological child, or chosen donor egg/sperm or moved away from treatments and have adopted or moved away from treatments and just accepted a childfree life. They are more free to focus on a “movement.”

Me? I’m tired. I’m tired of TRYING. And I’m tired of not being able to try and having to wait months/years to try again. I’m tired of being terrified of trying and I’m tired of being cut open. I’m tired of getting more and more diagnoses piled on top of one another. I’m tired of hearing the ad on the radio for a local fertility clinic (not mine) advertising that most couples won’t need expensive treatments so you should just Come on Down! As if it were The Price Is Right or something. Because I’m the one Bob Barker is going to ridicule for not making it up on the stage. ($1, Bob!)

I feel like I used to have energy for advocacy and now…I just don’t.

Apparently I didn’t last year either.

Sorry about that. My bad.

But if you’ve got more energy than I do you should head over to Resolve.

And kudos to all my Tweeps heading to Advocacy Day in DC!

4 Responses to “the NIAW that wasn’t”

  1. Casey Says:

    Sending you a lot of love. I don’t blame you for being tired. Hoping wishing and praying it works for you sooner than later. You have been on this terrible journey too long. Then maybe you can come to Dc too and “join the movement” .

  2. Daryl Says:

    I feel exactly the same way. Just…tired.

  3. Kitten Says:

    I agree. I was going to go whole-hog with daily posts on FB, this being only my 2nd NIAW, but I just don’t have the passion.

  4. Katie Says:

    I completely understand this feeling. I wasn’t as into it back when we were in treatments and waiting to adopt, because I was too exhausted. I just wanted to be a freakin parent, already. Hugs to you. I hope you know this feeling soon. You have been fighting this for far too long.


Comments are closed.