Year End Inventory

December 28, 2012

Everyone seems to take stock at year’s end and make some proclamation of what a good/bad year it was and how next year will be better. I, myself, have done this the past few years here on my blog. Each year I think, "Next year has got to be better."

Well… I’m sick of it.

It doesn’t matter what did or didn’t happen this year. Next year is not any more likely to be better than this year was a year ago. Or last year two years ago.

Predicting good things for next year is apparently everyone’s way of being optimistic or keeping hope alive. Or something.

I get it.

I just can’t do it anymore.

I’m tired of thinking that next year will bring better things. Every year disappoints.

So this time… no expectations. Or low expectations. Or… negative expectations?

Next year will be crap. Just like this one and last one and the one before that. And the one before that.

Saying it will be awesome doesn’t make it so.

Maybe saying it will be crap will make it great?

I can haz baby now please?
*headdesk*

2 Responses to “Year End Inventory”


  1. I always say ‘expect the worst and be surprised’ – works for me. 🙂


Comments are closed.

