The Word Game

August 8, 2012

It should come as no surprise, especially following the recent Twitter debate over the word Childfree, that I like language and word play.

But this post is actually NOT about the debate of the term Childfree. I think I’ll address that separately at a later time. Soon.

I have not formally studied linguistics but I have studied several languages. I am fascinated by words in other languages that capture complex ideas in one word when it would take at least three to convey the same meaning in English. I love that language evolves and we now have words like “frenemy.” I have an inexplicable fondness for alliteration.

You may not realize it but, despite the weird name, a lot of thought went into my blog name. And I’m still happy with it. It’s very… allegorical.

But I’m now on a quest. A quest for a new Twitter handle.

@StolenEggs just doesn’t fit anymore. My eggs did disappear. I had no reason to expect they’d return. But some of them did. Perhaps they were, in fact, stolen and the thief felt guilty and decided to return some of them. It’s not that it’s entirely inaccurate.

But since then… I just keep getting new diagnoses.

Non-tubal Ectopic Pregnancy. Adenomyosis. Tubal Ectopic Pregnancy. Tubal…Weirdness. A hole in my uterus (most likely related to the adenomyosis).

At one point I pondered @EmpressEctopic. I was going to use that if I had a third ectopic. But apparently I won’t.

@KitlessVixen occurred to me since it follows the Fox theme. But anything using Vixen might give the wrong idea. Not that that’s a bad thing, I’m just not sure I want to go in that direction.

One person suggested @BrokenBasket. Apt. It captures the current status. As does @UselessUte. The former is a little more generalizable in that it doesn’t overtly mention body parts.

But… my body likes to buck the system so perhaps I need something even more generalizable. Something that will last. Something that captures me now but will still hold true if I have a kid (through any means).

Or maybe the best way to get my uterus to function properly is to change my handle to @UselessUte. Reverse psychology and all. Seems to have worked for the eggs…

Anyhoo… I really want to find something that describes me, is witty, preferably alliterative or rhyming, and will hold true forever. Regardless of whether my uterus heals, or I have a bio child using a gestational carrier or if I adopt.

Something that captures the idea of infertility and my particular experience without being too explicit or referencing one diagnosis over another.

Perhaps I’m on a quest for a unicorn.

Regardless, let the brainstorming begin!

FOX THEMED
@InfertilityOutFoxed – Too long. How many characters do we get again? I know @FoxInTheHenHouse is too long since that’s how I ended up with @StolenEggs.

@FurtiveFox – I do like my anonymity, what I have left of it.

@FertilityFox – *yawns*

How about some rhymes?

@FoxOnTheRocks – Pretty sure this one’s taken

@APoxOnFox – meh, maybe it will grow on me

Anyone got any ideas? If I use your idea you’ll get… bragging right?…my remaining pee sticks? It’s all I have to offer at the moment.

3 Responses to “The Word Game”

  1. BeingMama Says:

    NextPhaseFox – alliterative and looks forward. No negative connotations like being “broken” (do you really want to formally beat yourself up like that with your new name?) No matter what the future holds, this is a new phase. No judgment about what it holds. 🙂


  2. How about using the ‘Unicorn’ theme – as you mentioned, the hunt for a new name that fits, and also the hunt for your future as a parent, and maybe even whatever comes next (as we’re always going to be looking to the future) could be equated to a unicorn hunt?

    UniversalUnicorn, UltimateUnicorn, UniqueUnicorn … not sure, but you get the general idea!

    I have come to hate my own twitter name as well, but I worry if I change it, people won’t know it’s me tweeting. That said, I’ve gotten used to others’ name changes really quickly. Also, I can’t think of a good one.

    Anyway, good luck with your quest!

  3. HGavin Says:

    It’s so funny how we stress out about finding the right name after using, what we thought was the perfect handle the first time around, for so long. It took me a while to find one I like and meant EVERYTHING that was happening to me and my new journey.
    Enough about me, what about
    @cantankerousUterus
    @FertilityEnnui
    @SurlyFox
    @UterusandI

    We will find you the perfect handle, just wait.


Comments are closed.

