AMH

February 28, 2012

I had my blood drawn today. For my third AMH.

For those not AMH savvy… AMH = Anti-Müllerian Hormone. It’s a somewhat “new” test and is supposed to indicate a woman’s ovarian reserve. Essentially, there is no way to count how many eggs you have left in your basket, but this hormone level is supposed to indicate the number of eggs left. In fact, there is research that suggests that measuring this hormone level can accurately (within a few months) predict WHEN a woman will enter menopause.

Unlike FSH (which should be measured on day 2-4 of your cycle) this test can be done at any time. In theory, your AMH level should peak before puberty, remain somewhat constant until your early 20s, and then begin to decline gradually. While there is never a one-size-fits-all in medicine, IT IS NOT SUPPOSED TO FLUCTUATE.

But then… I’m a medical anomaly.

So… the books are open. I’m taking bets. What will my AMH be THIS time?

Background… I do appear to be ovulating, my cycles have been 28-33 days recently. But I am having hot flashes and night sweats.

My first AMH was 0.1 and I was told (by my GYN) that children would not be possible. My RE, who said children might still be possible although not probable, otherwise concurred with the diagnosis since I had 2 antral follicles and was having hot flashes and night sweats.

After a surprise IVF (I was originally told I didn’t have enough eggs left for IVF), a devastating ectopic and LOTS of recovery time, my antral follicle count (AFC) increased. And apparently my AMH did as well. My AFC jumped to the teens and my AMH miraculously increased to 0.9 – a feat that was not supposed to be possible.

Since the original anovulation, hot flashes, night sweats, waking up in a bed with sweat-soaked sheets… my body has seemingly made a comeback. I actually managed to have semi-regular cycles without hot flashes in between the ectopics. I had a few normal cycles after the second ectopic and then the hot flashes came back.

Based on symptoms alone, I predict this AMH will come back somewhere in between 0.1-0.9. I think I’m placing my bet on 0.3.

Who’s in? I’m sure I can come up with a prize for the winner….

3 Responses to “AMH”

  1. aqua Says:

    I’m laying a bet that it was 0.9 or higher! Do you have the results as yet? My first test was 0.6 and second one is 2.1 (yeah wow if the second one is correct). Really keen to hear what your 3rd test came out as?

    • Stolen Eggs Says:

      It came back at 0.34. I had predicted ~0.3 based on symptoms. I hate to be right.

      • aqua Says:

        I’m sorry that it was lower, but like you said it’s not supposed to fluctuate! But it has already! I hope you can sort your symptoms out again and it goes up once more. Good luck.


Comments are closed.

