Thankfulness

December 3, 2011

A lot of people did Facebook or Blog posts every day in November of “30 Things I’m Thankful For.” I just couldn’t manage to do that. I spent most of November dreading my first Thanksgiving without Pops. And I’m still kind of wallowing in self pity. And when you start to get sick of your own pity party you know it’s time to end it.

So maybe I can start the process of ending my pity party by listing the things I’m thankful for – in just one post. And I may not make it to 30. But who’s counting? So here they are, in no particular order.

  • my 3 adorable kittehs
  • my 2 adorable nieces, my awesome nephew and being an Aunt in general
  • living closer to the kids so I can be a better Aunt
  • the basics: a roof over my head & food to eat
  • Right Guy (even though I barely see him)
  • my inner strength
  • my IF tweeps & bleeps
  • IRL friends & family
  • my computer
  • my camera – eventually I’ll get back to taking pics
  • modern medicine (although I could do w/o the trips to the ER)
  • my education and the opportunities it gives me
  • peanut butter
  • crossword puzzles
  • wine
  • any good story told (orally, in a book, a movie)

Here are a few more that are rather difficult to wrap my head around. But I am still thankful for them… in a way. All of these things caused a lot of pain. And sorrow. And none of them ended well. But I think I am thankful for the life experience I gained.

  • the opportunity to care for my father when he needed me
  • the opportunity to try IVF even though it didn’t work out so well
  • having experienced being pregnant, if only briefly

So there. That’s what I’m thankful for. In December.

2 Responses to “Thankfulness”

  1. LisaB Says:

    I didn’t do the 30 days of thankfulness either. I also had some personal issues going on, but ended up feeling super thankful right before Thanksgiving when I got my surgery done.
    It’s so hard to bounce back from these traumatizing events, whether it’s TTC related or something else. I’m glad to see that you have some wonderful things in your life that you can be grateful for 🙂 I hope there are much better days to come!!

  2. barrenlazza Says:

    Hi there
    Just wanted to let you know I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award as I enjoy reading your blog so much. Hope everything is going OK with you? I really like this post
    BarrenLazza x


Comments are closed.

