Blog Awards

May 4, 2011

I’ve been a horrible blogger over the past 6 months or so. I’ve just had SO MUCH going on that blogging had to take a back seat. But I was recently tagged with a THIRD unanswered blog award so I think it’s time to actually respond to them and pass them along.

FIRST: Sept 2010 – Wow. @MySoCalledTTCLife at My So-Called (TTC) Life gave me the Happy/Hopeful Bloggie Award, which means I need to fill you all in on the things that currently make me happy and hopeful. This was awarded to me just after my hospitalization for my ectopic pregnancy. I really didn’t know what to write about being happy and hopeful at the time. But here goes… I am happy that I have family, friends and a partner (boyfriend/fiance? – his official status is somewhat nebulous at the moment) who love me. I am hopeful that one day I will build my own little family in whatever way I can. Sunflowers always brighten my day and make me happy too.

SECOND: March 2011 – @IVFJess at Brave New World Baby gave me a Good Egg Blog Award. I’m supposed to share 7 things about myself and pass along the award to others.

THIRD: April 2011 – @MiriamsHope (aka Keiko Zoll) at Hannah Wept Sarah Laughed gave me the Stylish Blogger Award. To be honest I’m not exactly sure what it means to be “stylish” in the blog community but, what the hell, I’ll take it. For this one I’m also supposed to share 7 things about myself and pass along the award.

7 Things About Me (that you may or may not already know)

1. I LOVE cheezy horror/sci-fi movies. If there’s zombies involved, even better. I grew up watching the classics in B&W with Pops. Dracula, Frankenstein, etc. Anything with Peter Lorre or Boris Karloff. My uncle also loves them. And, although Pops doesn’t appreciate the modern horror flicks, I do. One of my all time favorites is The Faculty. It’s the Breakfast Club meets the pod people. Can it get any better? Well… the Resident Evil series comes really, really close. Right Guy does not share this interest but sometimes he’ll watch them with me because he knows I like them so much. ❤ him.

2. I’m addicted to Triscuits. I’m trying to overcome this addiction since the low-carb diet seems to be the way to go. But I just love them. With cheese.

3. My friend’s kid once told me I was “good at” Play Doh. I’m not really sure how you can be good or bad at it but it IS lots of fun (I don’t care how old you are).

4. I also LOVE cartoons. I like old skool Bugs Bunny, Animaniacs, the PowerPuff Girls (how can you NOT love little girls who kick a$$?), Spongebob, The Grim Adventures of Billy & Mandy, and many others. There’s lots of new ones I’m not particularly fond of but in general I’m a fan. This is also a family trait. Yep, you guessed it – Pops loves them too (Rocky & Bullwinkle). And so does his brother.

5. I like photography. I’m not great at it but I do love it. And sometimes I get some decent pics. There are plenty of pics on this blog if you want to take a look. Just click “photography” in the word cloud to the right.

6. I’m apparently not good at thinking of seven things to write about myself. I’m really having a mental block at this point. Hhhmmm….. one more.

7. I’m a flow chart/data geek. I’ll spare you the explanation on this one. You either know what I mean or you don’t want to. 😉

Tag! You’re It!

Happy/Hopeful Bloggie Award goes to…
@PrincessPeeStix at Love, Life and Infertility
She is almost always upbeat so, Lori, tell us what makes you happy and hopeful and pass it on.

Good Egg Blog Award….
@thisispersonal at This is More Personal
Jen has been through a really rough time lately. But she’s a really good egg. So Jen, what makes you happy and hopeful? There’s gotta be something…

@MyLazyOvaries at My Lazy Ovaries
Slackie O has also been going through a rough time. Also a really good egg.

These ladies have endured lots of heartache very bravely and gracefully. So share 7 things and pass it on.

Stylish Blogger Award
@the2weekwait at The 2 Week Wait
Jay has also endured some rough times of late but she never loses her sense of humor. And I equate humor with style apparently. 😉

@IVFJess at Brave New World Baby
When your name is Jess Jetson how can you NOT be stylish? 😉

@BrokenBrownEgg at Broken Brown Egg
Regina is the epitome of style and a great infertility & reproductive health advocate.

@ZOMBabyIE at The Stork is late
I mentioned I like zombies, right? Jos knows zombie style for sure.

@tillien at A Nuttier Life
Tillie is another lady who has had a rough time but gone through it with grace and poise.

OK, stylish ladies, share 7 things about yourselves and pass it along. I think it’s supposed to be 15 people but who has time for that?!

