Quick Update on MRI

April 28, 2011

I should know better than to expect one test to give me a definitive answer. That never happens. And yet, I continue to expect it. Silly me.

I had thought the MRI would show that I was OK or that I needed surgery. What it actually showed… progress. I think.

Just to explain a little… my ectopic pregnancy occurred in the myometrium (muscle wall) of my uterus. It took almost 6 months for beta HCG to reach zero. But there is still a blood pocket there which could cause my uterine wall to weaken and rupture from any future pregnancy. My RE had no idea whether this would heal on its own or if I would need surgery to strengthen my uterine wall. Apparently it is smaller. Which is good. My RE is conferring with her colleagues today about what next steps should be. But I think I’ll be able to avoid the surgery. Which is excellent. I wasn’t sure I wanted to go through with that surgery anyway.

Also good: the MRI shows that my antral follicle count is more than it was last year and more than should be expected for someone whose AMH=0.1. So my RE wants to retest me. It’s possible that I have more eggs in my basket than we originally thought. Which is also good news. Of course, there’s still the adenomyosis to worry about. But I can’t do anything about that.

What is not good news is that I STILL don’t have a definitive answer and I’m STILL benched. This wouldn’t be so bad if the rest of my life were normal. But right now, EVERYTHING is up in the air. I have control of NOTHING. My father is dying, but not imminently and we don’t know when that will be. My best guess is June. Which is when I’m supposed to move. Right Guy will have to move without me and I’ll follow when I can. I just can’t plan for ANYTHING right now.

I know I should concentrate on the upside of all this. In the grand scheme of things this MRI is GOOD NEWS. I just need something in my life to be a little more concrete right now. My EDD was May 9 and as that date looms near I become more and more anxious about the fact that I am STILL benched.

3 Responses to “Quick Update on MRI”

  1. Elphaba Says:

    Being stuck in limbo is so frustrating! I hope you get some answers soon.

  2. barrenlazza Says:

    It’s great to hear you may be able to avoid surgery. Pardon me for my ignorance but does this mean you may be able to try again (with your womb rather than a surrogate) with one of your embryos? I hope so…

  3. Serendipitie Says:

    (((HUGS))) I don’t know why it all has to be so hard


Comments are closed.

