Myth Busting

April 25, 2011

During this National Infertility Awareness Week the infertility community is kicking a$$ and taking names. And busting myths. Here’s my contribution:

Myths About Surrogates Gestational Carriers
Myth: A woman chooses surrogacy to save her figure.
Are you kidding me? Why would anyone do that? It’s silly. Most couples choose a gestational carrier or surrogate because the woman cannot safely carry the pregnancy to term OR because she has tried and failed to become pregnant herself for reasons known or unknown. Let me tell you my story and see if you still think this is simply a “figure-saving” option.

I never EVER thought I’d be considering a gestational carrier. My ovaries are old and presumably my eggs are too. I didn’t think there was much chance of having my own biological child. It was looking pretty grim. I don’t ovulate on my own – or at least not often. I don’t have many eggs left. But, long story short, my body surprised me and we got SIX good eggs in a whirlwind last minute IVF. Not only did we get 6 good EGGS… we got 6 good EMBRYOS.

I got pregnant on IVF #1! But it turned out to be an ectopic pregnancy. A very rare kind of ectopic. I would have been due in about 2 weeks. But instead, we’ve discovered that my problem is not just my ovaries – it’s my uterus too. The jury is still out on whether or not it’s advisable for me to try again but all signs are pointing to DANGER. Me getting pregnant could be life threatening to both myself and my child.

So here I am. With 4 frozen embryos that are mine biologically and no oven to bake them in. How could anyone think I would CHOOSE this option? I’m still amazed that I’m even contemplating it. But I don’t really have a choice. I have to consider it.

And my figure is already shot at this point. There’s no saving it by using a surrogate. 😉

Learn more about the disease of infertility
Learn more about National Infertility Awareness Week

One Response to “Myth Busting”

  1. Esperanza Says:

    What a ridiculous myth to have to bust. People are insane sometimes.

    I’m so sorry for your ectopic and the information it gave you about the possible danger of future pregnancies. I hope your MRI gives you the information you need to make the proper decisions for the future, whatever they may be.

    Thank you for your kind words on my post.


Comments are closed.

