Nicknames

April 14, 2011

Nicknames can be sooo important. I know in the Infertility community (and perhaps amongst the fertiles as well) what you call your little fetus/baby during pregnancy can be very personal. And it must be individual. If you have a miscarriage and lose “blueberry” and then get pregnant again… the new one CANNOT be called “blueberry.” But has anyone thought beyond the pregnancy? I know, I know. Most of us don’t since we can’t be sure we’ll ever get there. But what I mean is… will you have a nickname for your child (however you get him/her)? A name that only you use. Or perhaps both parents but no one else.

Yesterday it occurred to me that in a few months I will lose my nickname. In the 6-7 years Pops has battled cancer and come close to death this is the first time this has occurred to me. Pops has always called me “Punkin.” Not pumpkin, but Punkin. Since I was 4 or so – as long as I can remember anyway. He still calls me that. Sometimes when he yells from his bedroom could I bring him a glass of water he first calls out “Punkin” to get my attention. I have always loved this nickname – but only when he uses it. I’ve never let anyone else call me that. But after he’s gone… will I still be “Punkin?”

With him gone will I no longer be “Punkin?” Or should I allow someone new to call me that? I’ve had friends and boyfriends in the past jokingly use that name on me and I never found it funny. I hated it. I don’t even like it when my Mom uses it. Maybe I could be OK with Right Guy using it. Or maybe I should just reserve it for my future child and pass it down the line.

8 Responses to “Nicknames”


  1. This post brought tears to my eyes. It’s the little things like this that we lose huh. I’m sorry 😦

  2. myTTCstory Says:

    I think you should pass it on in honour of you dad. It’s such a sweet nickname!

    I’ve named my embabies Flora & Bruce so I hope they don’t stick! I like Flora but my DP hates it.

    MyTTCstory x

  3. _courtn3y Says:

    My Dad calls me Bean. Always has. My Mom has never called me bean it was always my Dad so I can totally understand how it’s weird when someone else calls you by the nickname your pops gave you.

    Now that I’m pregnant with our fourth child, I have been calling him/her baby bean. It just seemed fitting.

    It’s totally up to you if you feel comfortable nicknaming your future child after you.

    *hugs*

  4. dee Says:

    *hugs* to you

    I call my daughter my Punkin. I have since the day she was born.

    I also nicknamed my son “Peanut” as soon as I found out my IVF worked. He’s five now, and though he tells me not to, I still call him that.


  5. I’m so sorry that you’re facing the loss of your dad and your “punkin”-ness. I stopped giving my embabies real names (after 7 m/c’s, it got demotivating thinking of new cool names, so we started on the nicknames, but I got too miserable for a while to be creative, so I started recycling names. I know. Shameful! My son (2yrs old) is my

  6. Jess Says:

    By passing the nickname along to your own child, it could be a wonderful way to keep your dad close. But I could imagine it being very emotional. thinking of you. xxx

  7. Serendipitie Says:

    (((HUGS))) I truly love the idea of passing it down to your own child


Comments are closed.

