National Infertility Awareness Week

April 8, 2011

It’s that time again – National Infertility Awareness Week. And what a circus it is this year. We’ve got PETA offering a free vasectomy “in honor” of National Infertility Awareness Week. What a$$hat came up with that? Don’t get me wrong, I think offering a free vasectomy is a very clever ad campaign to encourage spaying and neutering your pets. All the pets I have ever had I’ve had “fixed.” So I applaud the cause and I understand that some people want or need to get snipped. But to offer a vasectomy to a guy “in honor of National Infertility Awareness Week” is the complete opposite of what this week is for. It’s to bring AWARENESS and bust the myths about infertility. All this campaign does is perpetuate myths and act as a slap in the face to the entire Infertility Community. Bravo to Resolve for their official condemnation and to all the bloggers and tweeps out there spreading the word to let people know that we’re not going to take this lying down. Even though that’s how we spend most of our time. 😉 And a special shout out to Keiko Zoll (aka @MiriamsHope) for her tremendous efforts in fighting PETA’s campaign.

Infertility strikes both men and women, but being female myself, I’m also a bit outraged at what’s going on in that arena as well. We’ve got Congress debating whether to shut down the entire government because they can’t agree on funding for Planned Parenthood – a champion of Women’s Health. Let’s see if we can clear up a few things.

  • Planned Parenthood offers all kinds of women’s health services, not just abortions
  • There is already a rule in place that prohibits federal dollars from funding abortions
  • Infertility is a DISEASE, not a life choice or God’s will
  • Relaxing will not get you pregnant nor will it cure what ails your lady parts – something Planned Parenthood is good for
  • Do we really have to fight for women’s rights AGAIN????

I could go on and on but I’m trying this new thing called “working.” I think my boss likes it.

2 Responses to “National Infertility Awareness Week”


  1. I’m fining the whole “working” thing to be overrated. 🙂

  2. Katie Says:

    Love this.

    And pshhhh. Working. Who does that? 🙂


Comments are closed.

