Would You Like To Play A Game?

September 16, 2010


No. Not Global ThermoNuclear War. This isn’t War Games.

This is a guessing game. It’s called How Many Little Monkeys Are In There?


Here’s all the relevant info:
2 3 day old embryos were transferred
11 dp3dt beta = 90
13 dp3dt beta = 172
15 dpt3dt beta = 355

I started feeling nausea and fatigue at 8dp3dt. It waxes and wanes but it hasn’t gone away completely. It also hasn’t gotten horrible. I am also HUNGRY. And I occasionally get light headed even when my tummy is FULL. I know I’m eating more than the recommended extra 300 calories/day. I eat constantly so I MUST be. And I haven’t been exercising (too tired/queasy). But I haven’t gained a pound. I know I’m not that far along but with the amount of food I’ve been eating… I should have gained a little. I feel very bloated but the scale says I don’t actually weigh any more than I did before. So…. am I actually using all those extra calories to grow more than one? I dunno.

Intuition? My intuition is on the fritz. It vacillates. Sometimes, like when I’m stuffing my face, I think I MUST have two in there. Other times, like when I make it through the day without needing a nap, I think it must just be one. Sometimes I feel like I should have much stronger/worse symptoms if it’s two. Then I think about how I had symptoms pretty early on (even before my “missed period”) and think it must be twins. And then sometimes I’m convinced I’m going to miscarry because I’m just THAT paranoid. This is my first pregnancy so I have nothing to compare it to. The bottom line? I have no freaking clue.

So here are the possible answers to the question : How many little sea monkeys are in there?

Possible answers: 0-4
I’d say it’s pretty safe that 3, & 4 are out. And hopefully 0. Unless you want to count 0 as an empty sac (but let’s not go there). [Note to self: Stop googling “blighted ovum”] I think it’s highly unlikely that one or both of them divided but it’s still theoretically possible there could be 3 or 4. So if anyone is feeling lucky on those feel free to guess one of them – they’re not impossible, just highly unlikely. The most likely answers are ONE or TWO (and the dreaded ZERO).

And… GO!


Ghetto Giveaway
I might even have some items to give away. I’m calling this the Ghetto Giveaway because there’s no fancy new jewelry or anything – just leftovers I no longer need. But hopefully someone else can use them. I’d hate to just throw them out. And this seems like as good a way as any to give them away to anyone who wants/needs them.

  • ~20 Early pregnancy tests
  • ~10 OPKs
  • Several different gently used fertility books
  • Folli.stim
  • possibly some other stims/meds

So just post your guess as a comment here and the owner of the first correct answer will get first pick from the list. And then the second will get to pick. And so on. For the purposes of the giveaway I’ll use the number of heartbeats detected as the right answer (since there could be two sacs but one heartbeat, etc). Also, sadly, I will only ship to the US or Canada. But I’ll send good karma across the ocean for any international guesses!

I’ll post a complete list of available items with specifics later. My ultrasound is on Monday, Sept 20th so entries will need to be submitted by noon Eastern time on that day.

2 Responses to “Would You Like To Play A Game?”


  1. I’m rolling the dice and I’ll go with ONE sea monkey. Excited to hear the news!


  2. I vote for one wriggly little monkey too. Only a few days until we all find out. So excited for you.


Comments are closed.

