Official BFP

August 31, 2010

It’s official. My bloodwork shows a beta HCG level of 90. That’s a solid number for a singleton (although it doesn’t rule out twins) at 14dpo / 11dpt3dt. Now we just have to wait and see if it increases appropriately. I think it will. Based on when I got the first faint positive and the sensitivity of that test I thought my beta would be at around 80 yesterday – and I was thankfully right.

Let the waiting continue!

I have so many cliches swimming around in my head right now. “Take one day at a time.” And in the immortal words of Renee Zellweger (a.k.a. Gina) in Empire Records, “Don’t screw it up.”

And I’ve already had one minor screw up. Unfortunately I think I gave Right Guy a mini heart attack yesterday when I shared the news. He’s difficult to get a hold of – I can’t really just pick up the phone and call him – so after I sent him an email with all the details I also sent him a quick text page that just said “beta HCG = 90”. What he received was “beta HCG 0”. Being a Dude he only admitted to being confused by it and not upset. But I’m sure he was upset. Hopefully I can avoid that with tomorrow’s number.

One Response to “Official BFP”


  1. Wonderful news! You are officially pregnant! Hooray!


Comments are closed.

