Take a walk on the Boardwalk

August 11, 2010

chance card

I feel like I’m playing monopoly. I’m on Connecticut Ave (just before Jail) and somehow I pull a Chance card that says “Take a walk on the Boardwalk” and I whiz all the way around the board. I skip IUI entirely and GO STRAIGHT TO IVF. Um… wait. What?!

boardwalk cardIt was a HUGE decision to make and I had to make it in about an hour. But we’re going for it. It just makes sense. I’ve had an amazing response on my first injectibles cycle. Even before I started the shots I had a high (for me) AFC (antral follicle count) of 13. This morning I had 7 follies 12-15mm. (well one of them was 11.9). Here are the choices my RE gave me:

1a) Cancel this cycle. She considered the risk of high order multiples too great.

1b) Right Guy and I discussed moving forward anyway and just relying on selective reduction if we needed it. I already have the Ovidrel and the plan was for intercourse at home anyway. This choice was not sanctioned by my RE but we felt it was worth considering.

2) Try some shots of pure LH to see if that would stop the smaller ones from growing more while maturing the larger ones. I would have to drive to another city (20-30 mi) to acquire this medication and there’s no guarantee that this strategy would work so I’d still potentially end up back at option #1.

3) Convert to IVF. Gulp.

We have chosen option #3. And after making this decision, my RE says she thinks it’s the best option. She never thought she’d be having the IVF discussion with me. She’s completely mystified. She described my ovaries as “an anomoly.” She’s hopeful that this will work but says if I don’t get pregnant on this IVF cycle she will want to retest some of my levels (specifically AMH). This is not supposed to happen with numbers like mine (AMH=0.1 & FSH =16). So now she’s questioning the numbers. Although, if the numbers are correct, this is likely my only/best shot. So I’m taking it.

Double gulp.

But it looks like it’s going to happen. And soon. Egg retrieval will probably be this Sunday or Monday.

If anyone is curious about the exact protocol I’ve been one that has worked so well I’ll post it soon and then update here to link back to it.
UPDATE::
Here’s a link to the protocol specifics and results before IVF conversion: Bravelle + Menopur.

One Response to “Take a walk on the Boardwalk”


  1. […] to do. So I had to wait on a call from my RE. Then things exploded. You can read about it here: Take A Walk on the Boardwalk. Posted by Stolen Eggs Filed in Primary Ovarian Insufficiency, health, infertility Tagged: […]


Comments are closed.

