Cycle 3: Clomid & Ovidrel and Timed Intercourse

August 6, 2010

It seems I regularly get a handful full of visitors who find my blog by searching on “clomid + ovidrel timed intercourse” so I thought I’d post the results of my last clomid cycle.

Originally Cycle 3 was supposed to have been converted from a clomid cycle to an injectibles cycle because Cycle 2 was not a success. But I had a lot of other stress in my life (my father was hospitalized for pneumonia) so I didn’t want to spend the money on the shots when I knew I was already too stressed out to expect results. So I decided to give the clomid one last try. This time with an estrogen primer. The estrogen primer is crucial for me but is probably not necessary for most women. And just because I haven’t gotten pregnant with clomid doesn’t mean you won’t. It HAS made me ovulate which is something I don’t do on my own. So it’s definitely worth a try.

I definitely got a better response with the estrogen primer. Before I even started the clomid I had 9 antral follicles – my best number yet (at the time – my current cycle has even more). However, on CD12 none were mature. But they didn’t have too far to go. I had one follie at 14.5 and one at 15.4 on my right ovary with a small 10.5 follie hanging out in my left ovary. I waited several days to trigger so I don’t know exactly how large they got before the ovidrel. I could have ovulated 1 egg, 2 eggs, or potentially even 3. At least one of them *should* have been mature. But I can’t know for sure since my ovaries are like an Easy Bake Oven and seem to cook a little more slowly than most.

In any case, I DID ovulate and we had sex 3 days in a row. On two of those days I used a Soft Cup. This was the first time I used them. I can’t say whether they help or not but it definitely made me worry less about staying horizontal to make sure the sperm stay in there. And anything that makes me worry/stress LESS is a good thing. So I think I’ll use them again.

Again it was a BFN. Despite the stress of my father’s illness (which required a lot of my time) I was very hopeful for Cycle 3. It was the first time I had multiple mature follicles (or the potential for them anyway). I figured the odds of one of them being of good or decent quality were increased. So I was pretty crushed when I got another BFN.

I’m now doing an injectibles cycle with Bravelle & Menopur + Ovidrel. And again I’m hopeful since this time I have 13 follies baking in there. But again, the Easy Bake Oven is at play – they’re on slow bake. But I think they’ll get there. In their own time. I’m being monitored much more closely this time so hopefully I’ll have a clearer idea of how many are mature at trigger. At the advice of my RE, we’re still doing timed intercourse at home. I think I’ll push for an IUI next time if this cycle doesn’t work.

