Clomid & Multiples

June 2, 2010

Every time I mention to anyone that I’m taking Clomid I seem to always get the same reaction: “You know you’ll probably get twins right? Everyone who takes Clomid has twins.” Even my SIL, a doctor, said this to me. OK, so she’s a pediatrician and not an RE or even an OBGYN. But I’m really tired of hearing about this “common side effect” of Clomid. How do I hate this comment? Let me count the ways:

1) Dr. Google has informed me that about 10% of women on Clomid have twins (I have seen as low as 5% and as high as 12%). And about 3% have triplets. Certainly that is higher than in the general, non-fertility-drug-using population. But I wouldn’t call it common. And it’s far from “everyone.” I suppose it is MORE common now that MORE women are taking it. But that’s not the same thing.

2) I don’t have that many eggs left. Clomid is not going to simply conjure them out of thin air. Clomid can’t make me ovulate multiple eggs at a time if I don’t have multiple mature follicles available. Do the math. It’s not rocket science.

3) This quantity issue is not something my RE has told me. It’s really just me using common sense and basic arithmetic. Am I more likely to ovulate two eggs with Clomid than I am without it? Certainly. Multiples ARE possible with my condition. In fact, they’re preferable. Since I’m at the end of my egg supply there’s a greater chance that the ones left are the rejects. If I can ovulate more than one egg at a time then it increases the chance that one of them will be healthy and viable. So I could ovulate more than one but still only get a single pregnancy.

4) Let’s suppose for a moment that my ovaries fall down the Clomid rabbit hole and I DO ovulate more than one egg. And I DO have twins. This is a bad thing? I know that multiples are higher risk pregnancies. I’m aware of this fact. But I’m not talking about being Octomom here. I can’t put eight eggs together all at once. Realistically speaking multiples are not likely for me but if I were to have more than one it would be just two. And, while higher risk, healthy twins are born all the time (e.g. my niece & nephew who are natural fraternal twins and not a product of fertility drugs). And considering I only get one shot at this I would be ecstatic about a two for one deal.

Given the fact that I now practically have a more intimate relationship with the ultrasound wand than I do with Right Guy, I will know – definitively – if I have more than one mature follicle. I’ll know up front if there’s a chance. This is immediate data I get. And last time it said, “Not freaking likely.” So pardon me if I don’t have the same concerns regarding multiples as other people seem to have. Clomid (or other similar drugs) is pretty much my only chance. So I’m taking it.

There. I just took it. Literally. I swallowed the pills. Let Round 2 begin.

2 Responses to “Clomid & Multiples”


  1. I think for those of us who have to struggle to create a family are much more open to the idea of multiple; we’re just willing to take a leap of faith. If you haven’t been through what we’ve been through, I guess the idea of multiples is a scary one.

  2. barrenlazza Says:

    My aunty took Clomid 37 and 35 years ago to conceive both my cousins and she didn’t have twins – just my lovely cousins!

    Also, my little brother and sister are naturally conceived twins. My Mum says in some ways this was easier than having her other three single children, as they went through the same stages together ie: teething at the same time, potty training at the same time etc. She reckons this was easier than having a two year old who was between nappies and potty training and a newborn who was breastfeeding and in nappies.

    Good luck – a pregnancy will be a blessing whether it a single or a multiple!


Comments are closed.

