The Return of the Ceiling Fan

April 24, 2010

It’s such a simple thing.  It seems silly to blog about.  But my ceiling fan has become such an important item in my life recently.  I never thought much about ceiling fans until last year.  Sometimes they seemed handy but mostly I just didn’t care or notice whether they were above me or not.  Now I find them a necessity. ::sigh::  I’m not sure if that’s depressing or amusing.

Much like my estrogen patch, my ceiling fan is a source of comfort for me.  Literally.  When I wake up in the middle of the night and throw off the covers she is there to soothe me.  She cools the hot flashes with a quick ease.  Unfortunately she is dying so I had to replace her.  And like most home improvements, things just didn’t go quite like I thought they would.  So she’s been AWOL the past few days.  But yesterday I got her back – well, I got a replacement anyway.  And I can once again sleep in peace.

