Cycle 1: Clomid & Ovidrel and Timed Intercourse

April 20, 2010

Will Clomid be my Prince Charming? I kind of doubt it. I’ve been warned by DOR veterans that Clomid normally does not work well for women with this condition. But it’s 10 pills taken over 5 days for a whopping cost of $10. So I totally get why it’s a good place to start. We’ll see how it works. The results are not quite all in yet.

Here’s what I DO know so far though. The Clomid did give me a mature follicle. And it did NOT thin my lining (which is a well-known side effect that can negatively impact the ability of a fertilized egg to implant). So in that sense it was a success.

Once the ultrasound showed a mature follicle I got the Ovidrel shot to trigger release of the egg from the follicle. You’re supposed to give it to yourself but I got Right Guy to give it to me. It would seem the shot worked as well. Although I’m still somewhat skeptical about the timing. How can they have it so exact? That shot will make me ovulate 40-42 hours later? A two hour window? Really? I didn’t think anything could be that exact with this sort of thing.

But both drugs made me VERY crampy. I spent a few days on the sofa feeling like a wuss. It’s not that the pain is that horrible but it’s really uncomfortable and I’m paranoid to do anything that might jeopardize my chances. So if I did somethine that made it hurt – like walking, for example – I stopped doing it.

And now I’ve arrived at the two week wait. And trying not to go insane. Which is why I’ve just spent all this time updating this blog on what’s happened in the past few months. Anything to not obsess over the 2ww.

