Resolve To Know More…About…What?

April 25, 2014

Guess what. It’s National Infertility Awareness Week (NIAW) again.

Sigh.

Once again I am less than enthused to write about it. This is an infertility blog so I feel like it raises awareness simply by existing. Also…Resolve – the organization that sponsors this – and I don’t have the best history. I’m happy it exists, we just don’t see eye to eye on some things.

But just because I don’t agree with everything Resolve does doesn’t mean it’s not important to advocate for awareness. So I will dutifully give it a shot this year as I have done for the last 4 years. This year the theme for the blogging challenge is Resolve To Know More.

Know more about…[insert infertility topic here]

I’m really struggling with this.

My experiences have led me down numerous paths and numerous diagnoses.

Me personally? I don’t want to know any more.

I’ve already covered Premature Ovarian Failure (POF), Diminished Ovarian Reserve (DOR), Endometriosis, Adenomyosis, In Vitro Fertilization – IVF, Frozen Embryo Transfer FET, Clomid, timed intercourse, Lupron, ectopic pregnancy, Infertility PTSD, grief and loss, HCG, Hormone Replacement Therapy (HRT), bio-identical hormones, Injectible hormones like Bravelle & Menopur, surrogacy, adoption, hysterectomy, endometriosis excision surgery, Methotrexate.

I’m not sure I have the energy or capacity to know more. If you would like to, please start clicking all the links above. Or the ones below. This blog is chock full of infertility knowledge.

I’ve played educator. I’ve played advocate. I’ve played patient. I’ve been cut open. Numerous times.

And now I’m tired. And that is valid.

image

Stick a fork in me. I’m done. And I’m not ashamed to say it.

So…Resolve to know more about how infertility is soul crushing and exhausting.

After writing this post, I went back and re-read all my previous NIAW posts. I probably should have done that FIRST. Oops. The first two are hopeful. The last two are…not. The last few posts ALL say I’M TIRED.

You know why? Because apparently it’s my mission in life to TRY ALL THE THINGS.

  1. Adoption on my own – Oh wait, I just met this awesome guy so maybe not
  2. Assisted Reproduction Treatments (ART) – My body hates me
  3. Third Party ART (in my case surrogacy) – My last embryos just don’t have what it takes
  4. Adoption with Right Guy

I’ve come full circle.
***************************************
Stay tuned for another NIAW post that is a bit more serious. Once published I will insert the link here.

6 Responses to “Resolve To Know More…About…What?”


  1. This is exactly how I feel this NIAW! Arrived here by a different set of circumstances. But I feel you 100%.

  2. Amy Says:

    I am a newish reader but after reading this post and the post you linked about feeling left out by Resolve, I feel like we’re in the same boat even though our paths have been so different. I also feel left out because of what we’re NOT doing. We are dealing with male infertility issues and, as a couple, have decided that fertility treatments are not for us; we are moving right into starting the adoption process. In general, adoption is a topic that Resolve doesn’t give much time to and any mention of adoption assumes you have been through all other fertility treatments. The online comments I have received from Resolve members when I reveal that we haven’t gone through treatments are similar to the comments about fertility that Resolve tries to stop. “Have you tried…?” “Why don’t you do…?” “I’ll bet if you just tried once…” It sucks! I know it’s not their responsibility to cater to everyone but this NIAW sucks for me because it brings more questions about my choices than I feel like I should ever have to answer.

    tl;dr: I feel ya!

    • Fox Says:

      That’s horrible. Everyone has their own path of what feels right to them. Not doing treatments is a completely valid choice and should be supported with just as much fervor. I know some ladies on Twitter that went that (or similar) route. LMK if you’d like to get in touch with them.

  3. swo8 Says:

    Don’t lose your courage. There are a lot of people out there rooting for you.
    Leslie


  4. […] wrote my last post about this year’s National Infertility Awareness Week (NIAW) and then went to bed feeling […]

  5. Jess Says:

    I felt the same way about the theme. Resolve to know more just exhausts me too- and I know I’m one of the lucky ones out there.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,426 other followers

